Creativity Ambassadors

Creativity Ambassadors are Oklahomans of a range of disciplines appointed by the Governor and Creative Oklahoma in recognition of their national and international creative and innovative contributions. The Ambassadors receive the Creativity Ambassador title and medallion from the Governor in a gala ceremony associated with the State of Creativity Forum.

Ambassadors have agreed to serve as representatives of the State of Oklahoma to further Creative Oklahoma’s mission to establish Oklahoma as a world-renowned center of creativity and innovation. Ambassadors also share their ideas on creativity and innovation helping to advance “The State of Creativity” campaign. Their contributions include public service announcements, performances, speaking opportunities, and sharing their knowledge and expertise.

Oklahoma is indeed fortunate to have so many accomplished individuals throughout the world making creative contributions in fields from aerospace to music. We are honored that these Oklahomans give their time and talent to make a difference and are committed to advancing creativity and innovation in Oklahoma and wherever they may be.


2015 Creativity Ambassador Inductees


Jeanette Elliott

EVP/Creative Director, Ackerman McQueen

Jeanette Elliott is a Tulsa native and fourth-generation Oklahoman. She spent decades at Ackerman McQueen as the state’s top-ranking advertising industry creative executive. Jeanette serves on the Executive Committee of the Oklahoma City Ballet Board, the Visionary Oklahoma Women board and the United Way Women’s Leadership Society. Awards received include the Governor’s Arts Award, the Silver AAF Lifetime Achievement Award and the Effie award from the American Marketing Association for her “Oklahoma Native America” campaign for Oklahoma Tourism. Jeanette is the wife and business partner of architect Rand Elliott of Elliott + Associates Architects.

Rand Elliott

Rand Elliott, FAIA President, Elliott + Associates Architects

“Architectural Portraits” best describes the design approach of Rand Elliott, FAIA. Each project is conceived as a direct reflection of the client personality or business goals. Since the firm’s inception in 1976, it has received 319 international, national, regional and local awards including ten National AIA Honor Awards. Rand has participated in the prestigious Bruce Goff Fellowship lecture series at the University of Oklahoma and as a featured lecturer at the Architectural League “Emerging Voices” series. Rand was inducted into Interior Design Magazine’s Hall of Fame and the Oklahoma State University College of Engineering, Architecture and Technology’s Hall of Fame.

Mike Knopp

Executive Director, Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation

Mike was born in Kansas, raised in Minnesota and moved to Edmond, Oklahoma in 1988 from Maryland where he graduated from Edmond Memorial High School. Mike went on to Oklahoma State University where he graduated with a BBA in economics and then completed a Juris Doctorate from the University of Oklahoma. Mike Knopp left his successful legal career in 2003 to establish the Oklahoma City University varsity rowing program and assume the position of Executive Director of the Oklahoma City Boathouse Foundation. Bringing corporate, civic and community leaders together, Mike has led multiple initiatives to activate the Oklahoma River, including the Boathouse District master plan development, Olympic training, community programming, and several national and international events.

Lance McDaniel

Executive Director of the deadCENTER Film Festival

Lance McDaniel is Executive Director of the deadCENTER Film Festival, Oklahoma’s largest film festival, and an independent filmmaker who has worked on 14 feature films, including Oscar winner Million Dollar Baby.Lance wrote, directed and produced the Chris Kattan comedy film Crazy Enough, which is available on Netflix and Amazon.  

Joe Thompson

Founding Director, Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art

Joe was born in El Reno and grew up in Calumet and Alva, Oklahoma, where he won the Nescatunga* Arts Festival Prize for painting while in high school. His parents and a large extended family live and work throughout central Oklahoma. Thompson is the founding director of the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art (MASS MoCA), having guided the museum’s development and arts programming since its inception in 1987. It is one of the liveliest and largest centers in the world for making, showing, and enjoying the best art and music of our time. Joe is a co‐ organizer of the annual Bang on a Can Summer Music Festival at MASS MoCA, and with the rock band Wilco, he co‐produces the Solid Sound Festival of music and art at MASS MoCA.

*Oklahoma’s oldest continually running festival of arts

Roger Webb

The 19th President of the University of Central Oklahoma

Roger is a native of eastern Oklahoma and graduated from Heavener High School. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree from Oklahoma State University and a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Following his service as Oklahoma Commissioner of Public Safety from 1974 to 1978, Roger Webb served as President of Northeastern State University for 19 years, 1978 to 1997. He then served as President of the University of Central Oklahoma from 1997 to 2011. While at UCO, he articulated and implemented a vision for the institution that has led to record enrollment of more than 17,000 and national recognition. Other notable accomplishments at UCO are the creation of the Academy of Contemporary Music, the only industry-based music education program of its kind in the country; the establishment of the UCO Forensic Science Institute; the opening of the UCO Jazz Lab, a popular performance venue, classroom and recording studio; partnering with the U.S. Olympic Committee to designate Central as an official U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Training Site; and encouraging sustainable practices and beautification efforts that have won national awards.

Current Creativity Ambassadors


Mrs. Suzy Amis-CameronMr. Byron BerlineMr. Elvin BishopPresident David BorenMr. Chad BurrisMr. Lee CockerellMr. Graham ColtonMrs. Nadia ComaneciMr. Bart ConnerMr. Wayne CoyneMr. Kyle DillinghamMs. Dayna Dunbar, Mrs. Jeanette Elliott, Mr. Rand Elliott


Mr. Gray FredericksonMrs. Jane Jayroe Gamble, Mr. Isaac HansonMr. Taylor HansonMr. Zac HansonMr. Sterlin HarjoMr. Benjamin Harjo Jr.Commander John HerringtonMr. Mat Hoffman, Mrs. Wanda Jackson


Mr. Toby KeithMr. Garman Kimmel, Mr. Mike KnoppMr. Erik LoganMr. Dick Lowry, Mr. Hunt LowryMrs. Junie Lowry-JohnsonMr. Desmond MasonMr. Ben May, Mr. Lance McDanielMrs. Leona MitchellMr. Brad MooreMr. Bobby NelsonMr. Charles Nelson, II


 Mrs. Sandi PattySir Ken RobinsonMr. Lee Allan SmithLt. General Thomas StaffordMr. Jesse TabishMr. Jordan TangMr. Jerod TateDean Rich Taylor, Mr. Joe Thompson


Mr. Allan VestMr. Michael WallisMr. Jimmy Webb, Mr. Roger WebbMr. Mike Wimmer