Creativity Ambassadors – 2008

Oklahoma Creativity Ambassadors have been recognized by the Governor of Oklahoma and Creative Oklahoma as Oklahomans who have made significant national and international creative contributions to their discipline. Creativity Ambassadors serve as exemplars of creativity and innovation representing the State of Oklahoma to help further Creative Oklahoma’s mission to establish Oklahoma as a world-renowned center of creativity and innovation.

Elvin Bishop
Blues, rock and roll recording artist

Chad Burris
Movie producer, Oklahoma Territory Film Council President and Director of Yuwita, a non-profit organization

Lee Cockerell
Retired former Executive Vice President of Operations, Walt Disney World Resort and board of trustees member, the Culinary Institute of America

Nadia Comaneci
Nine-time Olympic gold medalist; founder, International Gymnastics Hall of Fame

Chair: Bart Conner
Olympian, CEO, Perfect 10 Productions

Gray Frederickson
Oscar winning movie producer – The Godfather, Part II and Apocalypse Now

Sterlin Harjo
Film maker, script writer & director – Goodnight Irene & Four Sheets to the Wind

John Herrington
Former NASA astronaut & US Naval Commander; First Native American in Space

Mat Hoffman
Six time X-Games medalist winner and 2002 ESPN Action Sports Lifetime Achievement Award

Toby Keith
Country musician and actor receiving four AMA Awards, five Billboard awards and two CMA awards; named 2004 Oklahoman of the Year

Hunt Lowry
Film Producer – A Walk to Remember, Last of the Mohicans and A Time to Kill

Ben May
Business Development Director, Epcot, Walt Disney World

Leona Mitchell
Operatic soprano vocalist receiving a Grammy for her role as Bess in Gershwin’s Porgy & Bess, London Records; and Oklahoma Music Hall of Fame inductee

Thomas Stafford
NASA astronaut and Commander, Apollo 10; Retired, U.S. Air Force Lieutenant General

Dr. Jordan Tang
Medical researcher, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, discovered an important key in Alzheimer’s disease treatment

Jerod Tate
Composer and award-winning Native American musician, Chickasaw

Michael Wallis
Award-winning Reporter and Best-selling Author – Route 66: the Mother Road, Oil Man the Story of Frank Phillips & The Birth of Phillips Petroleum